haiku for visuality

Sometimes while I do reading for classes, I write haiku. I am unsure if this is common practice (most people take notes, I think, but I don’t know if textbook-margin-poetry is rampant or not). Anyway, I am currently reading David duChemin’s Within the Frame: The Journey of Photographic Vision, which as far as texts for classes go, is rather like getting to eat dessert for dinner. It’s quite provocative, inspiring, and visually snappy. Here are some haiku I wrote while doing last night’s reading.

#1

Every time a
shutter snaps becomes a chance
to see the world new.

_______

#2

Without visionaries
we have senses but no means to
make them meaningful.

_______

#3

All framing is choice
we must exclude in order
to be inclusive.

Leave a Reply

